If I Had My Life to Live Over

I’d dare to make more mistakes next time. I’d relax, I would limber up. I would be sillier than I have been this trip. I would take fewer things seriously. I would take more chances. I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers. I would eat more ice cream and less beans. I would perhaps have more actual troubles, but I’d have fewer imaginary ones.

You see, I’m one of those people who live sensibly and sanely, hour after hour, day after day. Oh, I’ve had my moments, and if I had to do it over again, I’d have more of them. In fact, I’d try to have nothing else. Just moments, one after another, instead of living so many years ahead of each day. I’ve been one of those persons who never goes anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a raincoat and a parachute. If I had to do it again, I would travel lighter than I have.

If I had my life to live over, I would start barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall. I would go to more dances. I would ride more merry-go-rounds. I would pick more daisies.

Nadine Stair
85 years old
Louisville, Kentucky

y mi traducción, es decir probablemente incorrecta

Si viviera mi vida de nuevo:
Me atrevería a cometer más errores. Me relajaría, sería más tonta de lo que lo he sido. Me tomaría las cosas menos en serio. Aprovecharía mis oportunidades. Escalaría más montanhas y nadaría en más ríos. Tomaría más helados y comería menos alubias. Tal vez tuviera más problemas reales, pero tendría muchos menos imaginarios
Soy una de esas personas que han vivido sensanta y saludablemente, hora tras hora, día tras día. Oh, he tenido mis momentos, y si tuviera que hacerlo de nuevo, tendría más. De hecho intentaría no tener nada más. Simplemente momentos, uno después de otro, en lugar de vivir tantos anhos anticipándome a cada día. He sido una de esas personas que nunca van a ningún sitio sin un termómetro, una botella de agua caliente, un chubasquero y un paracaídas. Si tuviera que hacerlo de nuevo, viajaría mucho más ligera!.
Si tuviera que vivir de nuevo, comenzaría a descalzarme antes durante la primavera y permanecería del mismo modo hasta el final del otonho. Iría a más bailes, subiría en más tiovivos, cogería más margaritas…

Nadine Stair
85 anhos
Louisville, Kentucky

Leave a Reply

